Absa Premiership championship contenders win Q-Innovation Awards


Absa Premiership contenders, Bidvest Wits and Mamelodi Sundowns have been bestowed with the Q-Innovation Awards of the Premier Soccer League following their excellent performance in quarter one and two respectively.

Bidvest Wits has been confirmed as the winners of Absa Premiership Quarter One and will pocket R1.5 million for its spoils while their title championship rivals, Mamelodi Sundowns, was named as the winners of quarter two, and will also pocket R1.5 million.

Read: Bluebirds Ladies have a new gem in their nest

The Q-Innovation Awards was introduced two seasons ago by the league to reward performing teams and to make the championship race more exciting, as it will allow the teams to envy for something in between the ‘long race to the championship’.

The Brazilians swept the boards in the second edition last year with their scintillating performance, winning three of the four quarters while the first quarter went to Wits. Two quarters are still up for the taking.

Wits, with 20 points from eight matches, are followed by Masandawana with 16 points and the Brazilians’ crosstown rivals, SuperSport United, are tied on 15 points with Kaizer Chiefs.

The Brazilians achieved 17 points from seven games, having won five matches, and are closely followed by Ajax Cape Town with 15 points, piping SuperSport and Maritzburg United to the second spot by two and three points respectively.

Read: Birds, Fabulous Gem comes face to face with former teammates of Soweto Fabulous Ladies

Quarter one is made up of eight matches, quarter two comprises seven, while quarter three is made up of eight and quarter four comprises seven.

Each winning team of each quarter pockets R1.5 million in prize money.

Edited by Stacey Woensdregt

Can you guess which teams you think will win the last two quarters? Tweet @AlexNewsZA to share your guesses.

Sipho Siso

Latest News


Next Story x
#ICYMI: Billing crisis prompts firing rumours